top of page

Dance of filamentous bacteria and racing DNAs

When I was working on my master thesis at NCSU, my advisor Francis and I were talking about making calendars and exhibitions of the beautiful bacteria images we captured with the epiflourescence microscopy. We never did it, but later I modified some of those images with Photoshop, and here is what I got.


The images belong to Florescent in-situ Hybridization (FISH) of filamentous bacteria sampled from my lab-scale wastewater treatment reactors. It is method of fluorescent labeling of the targeted species.



This second set of images belong to Denaturing Gradient Gel Electrophoresis (DGGE) of bacterial DNA isolated from the same lab-scale reactors. Here each band corresponds to DNA of one species, and the thickness of each band corresponds to abundance of that species.



Please note that I adjusted the images to create visual effects. These are not for scientific publication purpose, for scientific quality images you can check our Gulez and de los Reyes (2009) article.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page